Raising Fees

Hi, as a fairly new inspector I have been to a few meetings where Nick has opening pushed the raising of the home inspection fee that is charged. This is not a new subject and I have been hearing this since I got into the business.

I agree with him that this needs to be accomplished but the how is the question that I have. I will be the first to admit that my fee in my opinion is to low to be sustainable for the business 339$ up to 2000Sqr feet. I have been shown that a fee for services needs to reflect the service quality and reflect the benefits to the buyer/seller in the transaction as well as take into account the risks involved. Look at the comm fee for agents. 2-4 % ours is like .1%. So I would like every ones opinion.

I come from a industry where everyone has to charge the same amount for the service/product its mandated by the supplier, this so that everyone makes a set fee and its then all about services so if 1 raises a fee every one gets the benefit.

I will also broach a subject that I know will start a fire storm but thats what makes our world wonderful. How about a national convention and at that time we discuss a NACHI fee structure. Please, I know it might be taboo and what about the Competetition (ASHI, OAHI, CAHPI) who cares we have no real competion but ourselves. And a set fee structure would benfite all as long as its reasonble. My bet if this every happened it would be in the range of 500-700$. This way you will not loose business to the cheaper guy. Also I believe that the rest of the inspectors who belonged to the other *** would follow our lead just like gas stations.

The last thing I want to say is that I know there are guys out there charging 250$ and to those I say “Are you Nuts!”

Steven :mrgreen:

Stephen - you will find fess vary significantly with region.