Septic Dye Testing Question

Going to start offering septic dye testing. For those inspectors that do offer this service, what is the best way of determining the amount of water that is being introduced into the septic system. Any help is much appreciated.

1 Like

Josh,
Do a lot of research before you decide to do the septic dye test. Make sure your insurance E and O will cover the inspection/test. I don’t do it because it is terribly inconclusive. I’ve been an inspector for 4 years and only miss out on 6 inspections this year because I won’t do the dye test. I figure if I have one major septic problem every 50 inspections, then it wasn’t worth the inspection fees. Having said that, there are several inspectors and health departments that will do it.

When my client’s ask, I ALWAYS verbally recommend my clients to have a septic company inspect the system. They see septic tanks and leach fields everyday. They know what the problems look like. They know what a good system looks like. There is so much under ground and if the house has not been lived in for even a couple of weeks, then the dye test is worthless unless it is going straight to a ditch.

Start your education here – https://www.nachi.org/forum/f21/proper-method-inspecting-septic-systems-61273/.

Good Luck!

Good post I agree and you do the same as we did hand it to the expert

1 Like

I don’t completely agree.

True, if you don’t find dye. It’s a 100% conclusive test if you do find the dye.

No different than meth testing.

Nick
I understand your point, but there is too much uncertainty for me to offer as a service. People are too quick to sue and I am not interested in opening myself to litigation on a service for $50. Which is what most inspectors in my area charge for this service.

Josh,