State Licensing - Onboarding your state

I currently live in Minnesota and our state does not require inspectors to have passed the National Exam or hold licensing. What can I do to help push my state towards requiring licensing? Does anyone know if this is already in the works for MN or if InterNACHI is actively working with states to encourage them to go this direction?

Why do you think licensing is a good thing?

Dude, I was a licensed contractor for years in Minnesota and all it did for me was give the guys who will never be licensed the chance to undercut my pricing and start work sooner without jumping through the hoops that licensing required.

I suggest you ask licensed inspectors how licensing benefits them, then get back to us.

Licensing of home inspectors only benefit the REA’s.

Licensing sets basic, bare minimum requirements, that the REA’s want, so all HI’s will do basic, soft inspections and reports, at low prices, so the home will sell because the buyer will not be alarmed. All agents, office brokers, insurance agents, mortgage brokers and lenders, all will then get their cut of the revenue that the home sale brings.

IE, all drivers are good drivers because they are licensed. All barbers and hair dressers all do a good job because they are licensed. All marriges last because you have to get a marriage license to get married.

Licensing actually dumbs-down our profession. Licensing will only work if everyone is licensed to high standards. I suggest you read the differences between the InterNACHI SOP’s to those of ASHI. Most states that have put HI licensing into play use the ASHI standards, which IMO, are the lowest, poorest excuse for requirements out there.