Trying to get an idea of the industry.

Okay, this is my first post here on this site so if I don’t get a lot of response that is understandable. I’ve been looking into home inspections as a career for a month or so now, but I’m not sure about it quite yet. I have been framing custom homes for the last five years working for somebody else other than myself. I don’t like working for somebody else making them tons of money, while my check stays the same. I’m looking for a change of pace and some new directions. I know this is a loaded question with tons of variables, but hows the money? Am I up in the night thinking I should be making $25-$30 an hour on average after expenses? I would like to hear about the first couple of years that you were in business. Did your family’s starve or were you successful? How about franchise vs. independant? I would appriciate any info that you fine folks could give me. I want to make as educated of a decision as I possibly can for me and more importantly my family.

The money can vary widely in the different geographic areas. Where are you located? You may get some responses that mean a little more than from someone all the way across the county.

Good luck.

Its wonderful. Most of the new guys average about 200-250 inspections their 1st full year, and then over the next 2-3 years work their way up till they’re doing a normal 450-600 inspections a year. Most experienced inspectors with 5 or more yrs experience average about $160k - $190k per year.

Don’t kid yourself. Being self employed doesn’t mean that you don’t work for someone else. You work for your client.

Yes, you do get a bigger piece of the pie, but you also have more expenses to absorb that you wouldn’t have had if you worked for someone else directly. You’ll have to get your own insurance, pay for your own equipment, marketing, Social Security, etc. You’ll also find that you don’t really work a 8 to 5 job schedule anymore. I work 7 days a week.