No tyvek behind siding

Hi, Im a new inspector and could use some advice. Customer just called on a 2001 town home I inspected two weeks ago. She had heard from a neiborhood forum that some of the houses in that neighbor hood did not have any moister barrier behind the siding. She asked me if she should still buy the house if a moister barrior was not present.
I had wrote up a lot of issues with this house because it had been maintained poorly. Several contractors had been to the house to fix variouse things so far.
Furthermore I reported water seeping in on the top of the front door way , where the the front of the house is brick faced. I looked closely at the windows above on the secound floor to see if they had been channeling water Into the wall cavity. I did not see anything . I did not see anything wrong with the vinyl siding on the the back of the house. She said she was going to have a contractor come out and look to see if it had had tyvek. What is my liability if I saw no indications of it not being there? Is that considered a major defect even if no damage has occurred? Wasn’t this passed though building inspection then? It may have not been code at the time?Thanks for any advice, August P.S. I was pretty hard on this house in my report due to the poor maintaince. I’m surprised she went forward with the deal.

We find that often here, likely not required when the home was built.

I use Tyvek wrap… but what good is it when you put all those siding and trim nail holes in it anyway? I really don’t think it is much of a moisture barrier IMHO, but I still use it.

Nick, first of all, Tyvek is not a moisture barrier, it is a (WRB) Weather Resistive Barrier.
It’s primary purpose is to seal the home from the elements and hep preventmoisture from getting inside the exterior envelope of the home.

It is a nonvoven product made of polyethylene fibers and nail holes will not negate it’s function as a barrier, somewhat like a mechanically fastened EPDM roof.