Stucco sealing needed?

The stucco window ledges were not caulked at their transition to the stone. Was this necessary? The caulking was done very well at all of the other needed areas.

bump

I not sure about the caulking but I do not see any type of flashing on the window below, it may just I am not seeing it, tit also appears there should be grout/cement between stones.

sigh

Just hope the moisture barriers are installed properly. With that type of stone and the look they wanted it would be kind of disfunctional to try and caulk it.

But most of the window mfgrs. call for the
(backer rod and sealant joint) even if it might do more harm than good in some places.

imo

I have been installing backer rod for 31 years now and I am not a window installer.
I am redoing masonry around windows and sills that have never seen backer rod sense they where installed.

I just met a window installer contact.
I will do some ride alongs and get some information.

As for the windows I can not see enough to give comment.
Carl is giving the best information.

That’s not stucco. The widow ledges are synthetic plant-ons.

I’d be more concerned with the transation between the stone (which is stucco with a rock stuck to it) and the vinyl windows. Here’s what NC “suggests” that we say:

"Manufactured stone veneer has been installed on the front of the home of this house. An inspection of the visible components has revealed that the stone veneer has not been installed in compliance with installation guidelines provided by the Masonry Veneer Manufacturer’s Association (MVMA). A PDF copy of the installation guidelines is available on our website. Other resources about this type of siding are available on our website.

Specific problems noted with the visible components include, but may not be limited to: There is no backer rod or caulk between other materials and the masonry veneer at windows, doors, and adjacent trim.