Stove and ovens

Im new to the Home Inspection Business, Im still working on submitting
4 mock inspections to Nachi, but I have a question:

Are stoves and ovens part of a home inspection ? Im saying this because
nowadays there getting digital. I still have problems wth using the programs
on my microwave at home. The old style gas and electric ranges I understand, but these new ones our getting high tec.

Sincerely David

Pyramid-Home-inspections

David,

Kitchen appliances fall outside of most SOP’s except for the Texas ones, Many home inspectors though do check that they are funtional but exclude timers or thermostat accuracy.

Personaly I check that each cook top burner heats up and that the oven does the same and that is about it.

Regards

Gerry

You may wish to view the CRIEASOP.

Below is what the NACHI SOP says. That is the minimum standard. Here in AZ it is common practice turn the oven on to see if it gets hot.

David you should do what most HI’s do in CA.

Just check to make sure each burner heats up and the oven warms up. It doesn’t matter if a takes awhile to heat up. We are just checking to make sure it works, not that it works well.

I also check for an anti tip device and the broiler.

Question;

What do you do when the Owner comes back after the Inspection and finds out her Appliances were checked and now claims to the RealEstate Agent that it does not work or one burner is out? Or the light in the Refrigerator or ice maker doesn't work, or Microwave light is burnt?

Just curious.

Personally, I ask the Occupants or the Owners if Present if all the Appliances work as intended, and if they say yes, that is what I write down.

Marcel

:slight_smile: :slight_smile:

</IMG></IMG>

Don’t inspect appliances. I have enough risks doing a home inspection why would I increase the risk? Not to mention having to know all the aspects of what could be wrong with an appliance.

I do as Gerry and Brian.