2 Prong Receptacle Houses

Running in to this more than I care. I reccomend upgrading to
3-pronged rececptacles that are properly installed with a ground
wire. Should there be any mention of safety.

Im new to Home Inspection and have 7 paid inspections under my
belt. I need to make a report on a house with 2 prong receptacles.
What is the NACHI verbage for this ?

David
Pyramid-Home-Inspection

Info to share with your client.

http://www.nachi.org/forum/showpost.php?p=168438&postcount=6

tom

David,

Here in Alabama, I have run into these little buggers too. If the electrical outlet that you are referring to is three prong with no ground, then write it up accordingly. If it has two prongs, leave it alone. You could make an improvement suggestion to upgrade to a three prong with ground, but there are no faults if they are working at time of inspection.

I recommend having an electrician install a GFCI receptacle at the upstream receptacle on two-wire ungrounded systems as a safety measure. I stress that there is the increased possibility of shock hazard with these systems, and that my recommendation is the choice of the client, that the home’s system was the norm when the home was built. That way, I fulfill my duty to the client, and not making a catastrophe out of it makes agents happy.

Why is there an increased shock hazard with a 2 prong receptacle? If a two prong plug is used there is no problem with it.

Two prong appliances (lamps, vacuums, etc) fall into many types:

1. Double insulated - Two protective barriers would have to fail to shock someone, very safe.
  2. Polarized - Preventing the ‘hot’ from ever touching any exposed surfaces, but still pose a risk to safety if there ever is a floating neutral.
  3. Unpolarized - The ‘hot’ has no restriction on the flow electricity, and metal parts can be energized.