Bonding line through main panel box

Friends,
Does the ground wire need to pass through a bushing as it exits the panel box to the ground rod? I have one that passes through a small hole in the box (loose and open around wire where it passes through).
Thanks,
Art

Some areas do require a Kenny clamp on the conductor. Other areas approve the use of the 1/4" hole into the panel. Still others allow the use of an NM connector.

I have never heard an inspector say what the possible issue would be.

Many panels have a small KO designed specifically for the GEC to enter the enclosure. GEC’s do not require bushings even if larger than #6 and in a raceway.

Thanks guys. I am new to this and didn’t know if I should make an issue of it. Your help is greatly appreciated.
Art

Any time any size Grounding Electrode Conductor passes through a metal raceway it is required to be bonded on each end.

It has been long debated about when it passes through an enclosure such as a panel or meter base. One thing is the ¼ inch holes in the bottom are not for the GEC to pass through. These are drain holes to allow moisture to drain.

Understanding that lightning is a high frequency event helps with the understanding of the bonding requirements. In a high frequency the current traveling through a conductor travels on the outer side of that conductor. Should this conductor pass through something metal the current will jump to that metal.

I have witnessed this event and once on my own meter base where a lightning event caused damage to the GEC as well as the meter base.
I am of the opinion that anytime the GEC passes through anything metal it needs to be bonded just for this reason.

Just to clarify Mike’s position it is his opinion because the NEC doesn’t directly address the issue of when a GEC enters an enclosure when it’s not in a ferrous raceway.

Oh but yes it does.