Breakers not tripping?

My background is in construction and maintenance and I currently work in an old warehouse with a ton of red flags to learn from. The electrical system / distribution panels are from the late 50s early 60’s and in desperate need of an upgrade. I once had some wires short and observed that a breaker refused to trip and it was only after the jbox and wire melted away did the arcing stop, …obviously a defective breaker!

Today our resident welder asked me to fix his plug with a broken prong for his portable mig welder. Being unsure of weather I should wire it with a 15 amp or 20 amp plug, I decided to grab my clamp meter and line splitter and see how many amps it would draw under use. I found it drew more than 25 amps under use for about 30 seconds, long enough to put down an couple of inches of weld. Anyway my questions are…

If a breaker is rated for 20 amps, am I correct in assuming that because its not tripping immediately after it draws over 20 amps that it is a defective breaker? Or is there some kind of wiggle room there?

I asked the welder if it was common for him to trip breakers and his response was “YES!”, then he proceeded to show me a large hand full of receptacles that worked for him, all 20 amp breakers, all very old. Is this hard evidence that all these breakers are faulty?

A side question unrelated to breakers, but I called the manufacturers of the welder, a Lincoln sp-135plus, and found out the factory installed a 15amp plug with 12guage wire. Is it common for power tools to have wires and plugs rated for less power than they draw because its not a continuous power draw?

Hoping someone out there has some answers :slight_smile:

http://www.nachi.org/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=78896&stc=1&d=1415329196

No, you would be incorrect. In fact, breakers loaded to 100% of capacity will likely never trip.

Here is a chart for reference.