DIY question

I am not an electrician, but I’m trying to install a chandelier in my new home and need some advice. The home was built in the early 1900s and has K&T. There was no electrical box where I’m installing the chandelier, so I installed one (cut through the plaster and attached it a joist). The problem is, the brass chandelier appears to be “hot” when I turn the breaker back on. Or at least my voltage pen goes crazy when it gets a few inches from the chandelier. Same when the switch is off (but breaker is still on). The bulbs in the chandelier come on. After my volt pen went off the first time, I turned off the breaker, removed the chandelier and looked for exposed wires inside the metal electrical box. I didn’t see any but I added some electrical tape around some of the frayed insulation on the K&T anyway, just to be sure. When I turned the breaker back on it was the same thing. Anyone have any idea what’s going on? It’s a new chandelier and I’m wondering if there’s a wiring problem in the fixture itself or if there’s something else I’m missing. Thanks in advance,
Shawn

From your description this sounds like [FONT=Comic Sans MS]reversed polarity (hot and ground wires are switched)[/FONT]

Obtaining DIY advice is not the purpose of this forum. However, as Gary suggested, it could be a hot-neutral reverse, which would be pretty common with modified K&T systems.

It’s more likely that you’re using a non-contact voltage detector, and there’s no “real” voltage in the exposed brass.

Have an electrician check the circuit, and for added safety, have that electrician install a GFCI breaker on the circuit.

Shawn… as others have stated above!

Just curious though… as you are not an Electrician…

In *Layman’s *terms…

K&T wiring utilizes a Common Hot and a Neutral wire… for a total of TWO wires… there are NO GROUND wires located in most circuits…