Go Back   InterNACHI Inspection Forum > >

Notices

Electrical Inspections Contains discussions about electrical systems. This includes receptacles, panels, wiring, etc.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #16  
Old 4/17/18, 7:06 PM
Michael Larson's Avatar
Michael Larson Michael Larson is online now
Certified Professional Inspector (CPI)
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Hudson, WI including the Twin Cities of MN
Posts: 71,954
Default Re: more than one GFCI on circuit

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
No I was not. I was stating that there is more than one way to wire multiple gfis.
Don't care. You are imagining the wrong situation.



As a Professional Home Inspector, I support the privacy of my clients.

You own your private information. I won't sell or give away yours, others do


www.InspectraPro.com
www.MinnesotaHomeInspector.biz

Michael Larson
Hudson, WI

Services provided in East MN and West WI

Call me


Reply With Quote
Need a home inspection in Arkansas? Check out InterNACHI's listing of Arkansas certified home inspectors. Or, find a home inspector anywhere in the world with our inspection search engine.
  #17  
Old 4/17/18, 7:09 PM
Jim Port Jim Port is online now
Unmoderated Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,507
Please Note: Jim Port is a non-member guest and is in no way affiliated with InterNACHI or its members.
Default Re: more than one GFCI on circuit

Quote:
Originally Posted by mlarson View Post
You are stating the obvious.
Maybe not so obvious . Some seemed to not see the convenience of multiple gfis so only the one at the point of use tripped.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 4/17/18, 7:36 PM
Robert Meier's Avatar
Robert Meier Robert Meier is online now
Active Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,156
Please Note: Robert Meier is a non-member guest and is in no way affiliated with InterNACHI or its members.
Default Re: more than one GFCI on circuit

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Or it can add a level of convenience since you no longer need to look to see which gfi tripped. Depends on how they were wired.

I think it would be extremely rare for more than one gfi to trip from the same event.
I agree, it would be a better idea to have multiple GFCI receptacles on a single circuit. If you had a three level house with a bathrooms on each floor and one receptacle circuit it would be a better design to have a GFCI receptacle in each bathroom so if it were to trip it would trip locally instead of somewhere else like in the basement when you're on the second floor.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 4/17/18, 7:42 PM
Michael Larson's Avatar
Michael Larson Michael Larson is online now
Certified Professional Inspector (CPI)
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Hudson, WI including the Twin Cities of MN
Posts: 71,954
Default Re: more than one GFCI on circuit

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Meier View Post
I agree, it would be a better idea to have multiple GFCI receptacles on a single circuit. If you had a three level house with a bathrooms on each floor and one receptacle circuit it would be a better design to have a GFCI receptacle in each bathroom so if it were to trip it would trip locally instead of somewhere else like in the basement when you're on the second floor.
Now you both don't get it.

What is being described is a second gfci connected to the load side of the first gfci.



As a Professional Home Inspector, I support the privacy of my clients.

You own your private information. I won't sell or give away yours, others do


www.InspectraPro.com
www.MinnesotaHomeInspector.biz

Michael Larson
Hudson, WI

Services provided in East MN and West WI

Call me


Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 4/17/18, 7:44 PM
Robert Meier's Avatar
Robert Meier Robert Meier is online now
Active Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,156
Please Note: Robert Meier is a non-member guest and is in no way affiliated with InterNACHI or its members.
Default Re: more than one GFCI on circuit

Quote:
Originally Posted by mlarson View Post
Now you both don't get it.

What is being described is a second gfci connected to the load side of the first gfci.
You're not following along. Still works just fine but that's not what the OP stated.

Quote:
fail "two GFI on one circuit"
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 4/17/18, 7:47 PM
Michael Larson's Avatar
Michael Larson Michael Larson is online now
Certified Professional Inspector (CPI)
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Hudson, WI including the Twin Cities of MN
Posts: 71,954
Default Re: more than one GFCI on circuit

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Meier View Post
You're not following along. Still works just fine but that's not what the OP stated.
Do you inspect?

The real world has surprises for you.



As a Professional Home Inspector, I support the privacy of my clients.

You own your private information. I won't sell or give away yours, others do


www.InspectraPro.com
www.MinnesotaHomeInspector.biz

Michael Larson
Hudson, WI

Services provided in East MN and West WI

Call me


Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 4/17/18, 7:52 PM
Robert Meier's Avatar
Robert Meier Robert Meier is online now
Active Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,156
Please Note: Robert Meier is a non-member guest and is in no way affiliated with InterNACHI or its members.
Default Re: more than one GFCI on circuit

So you agree that you misread the OP?
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 4/17/18, 7:53 PM
Michael Larson's Avatar
Michael Larson Michael Larson is online now
Certified Professional Inspector (CPI)
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Hudson, WI including the Twin Cities of MN
Posts: 71,954
Default Re: more than one GFCI on circuit

Nope
Quote:
I know multiple GFCI's on the same circuit are a waste of money and a nuisance but are they really a code violation?



As a Professional Home Inspector, I support the privacy of my clients.

You own your private information. I won't sell or give away yours, others do


www.InspectraPro.com
www.MinnesotaHomeInspector.biz

Michael Larson
Hudson, WI

Services provided in East MN and West WI

Call me


Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 4/17/18, 7:58 PM
Robert Meier's Avatar
Robert Meier Robert Meier is online now
Active Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,156
Please Note: Robert Meier is a non-member guest and is in no way affiliated with InterNACHI or its members.
Default Re: more than one GFCI on circuit

Quote:
Originally Posted by mlarson View Post
Nope
That still doesn't say that one is on the load side of the other but regardless of how it's wired it's code compliant which is the OP's question.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 4/17/18, 8:07 PM
Jim Port Jim Port is online now
Unmoderated Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,507
Please Note: Jim Port is a non-member guest and is in no way affiliated with InterNACHI or its members.
Default Re: more than one GFCI on circuit

Quote:
Originally Posted by mlarson View Post
Now you both don't get it.

What is being described is a second gfci connected to the load side of the first gfci.
That was not the way the OP posted the question. You are making an assumption that they meant wired from the load terminals .
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 4/17/18, 8:12 PM
Michael Larson's Avatar
Michael Larson Michael Larson is online now
Certified Professional Inspector (CPI)
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Hudson, WI including the Twin Cities of MN
Posts: 71,954
Default Re: more than one GFCI on circuit

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
That was not the way the OP posted the question. You are making an assumption that they meant wired from the load terminals .
There would be no nuisance otherwise.



As a Professional Home Inspector, I support the privacy of my clients.

You own your private information. I won't sell or give away yours, others do


www.InspectraPro.com
www.MinnesotaHomeInspector.biz

Michael Larson
Hudson, WI

Services provided in East MN and West WI

Call me


Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 7:07 AM.
no new posts