If this were your home--replace FP box?

I am not an inspector, just a concerned homeowner…

Last night I was watching a home show where an inspector cautioned a buyer about an FP box (going as far to say that it would be difficult to get insurance). Sitting here today, I realize that I also have an FP stab-lock box.

I’ve done a great deal of reading this morning, and realize that there are many unofficial warnings. I am leaning toward replacement, though I have never had any sign of a problem. I believe that this a 125 amp box, installed in 1981.

Looking for your professional opinion and experience–would you replace this if it were in your home?

Thank you!

I can tell you from first hand experience that FPE breakers often fail to trip when they should. I am an electrician, and my professional advice is to have the panel replaced. After all, overcurrent protection is one of the main reasons for breakers, and the FPE often does not live up to that requirement. The fact that you have no sign of a problem is meaningless. You have no way to know if your breakers should have tripped in the past and didn’t.

FP boxes have concerns. However if there is no indications of issues leave it alone.

However if it where my house. I would call a local licensed electrician who has a good reputation and ask for a quote to replace it. If the quote was within my budget, it would be on his schedule to replace that day.

hope this helps,

Curt

Curt,
Are you running for office or going bipolar, on us? :wink:

Carrie,

Follow Marc’s advice he is a well respected source of A+ information and I advise my clients of the need to have evaluated whenever I encounter FPE.

Here is an example of a different type panel that had gone undetected until I showed up for an inspection.

Note the fused marks on the bus bar, never seen under the breakers and the current owners never disclosed any problems. Why would they they were also unaware.