Service Panel Quiz?

I ran across the service panel in the picture and honestly thought it might be a test at first. The listing agent was proud that the owner had JUST (week before) had “new 200 amp electrical service installed” to the 1966 house. Outside it looked great; new meter and everything fine. Inside, new service panel; I plugged my 3 light GFCI tester into the outlet and saw hot/neutral reversed, got gunshy and really carefully opened the panel. I’m not an electrician but just looking at this, I got sick. It took me a while to sort out why so many colors but eventually it sort of made sense (sort of). I wrote the GFCI up as being a hazard and said the panel seemed to have some problems like wiring and the double tap neutrals and it needed to be evaluated; told the agent to get the electrical contractor (there was indeed a contractor’s sticker on the dead front) back asap; I was a little flustered at the time and that was all I could think of saying. Question in case I ever run into a disaster like this again: those red/black combinations: the wires looked like old Romex 3 conductor using one common for two breakers. Has that ever been legal; even back in the dark ages??

Hi to all,

Harry, your image is a bit too grainy to really see the detail, do you have another shot, or can you crop the image down but maintain the size so we get more detail?

Regards

Gerry

Has been a way to run two circuits on a 3 conductor wire and has been legal for a long time…but the red and black must be on different poles (240 volts across red/black) of the supply…if not the current in the neutral conductor will be additive and possibly heat up by carrying too much currnet for its rating. (e.g. a piece of 14-3 wire with 8 and 12 amps on the individual circuits will cause 20 amps to flow in the neutral!!!; wired properly, 4 amps will flow in the neutral)