Temporary Electric

Conducting my first HUD foreclosure so no electricity or LP gas. The place has been vacant for 6 months plus.
The real estate agent says “bring a generator”
I did schedule a heating contractor to provide the temporary LP gas so I can inspect the furnace, water heater and gas range.
I am going to hire an electrician to bring a generator to the inspection, but is it common to be asked to provide a generator?

No, and it’s not a good idea to provide it.

I think I will be looking at more of this type of inspection.
What do you suggest…
Business isn’t exactly falling out of the trees here in Michigan yet.

I am an electrician and no way would I get involved under any condition.

I do have two generators too.

There are inspection companies that will bring generators, natural gas, propane, pressurized water, or whatever else they think they need for homes that have been vacant for long periods of time, and/or winterized. Personally, I think it’s a bad idea and places too much liability on the inspector.

“Mobile utilities” (IMHO) may not give accurate results in the overall condition of the systems being provided. Additionally, many states would require that you have a contractors license to perform such services.

YMMV

Thanks Fellas, there is enough liability in this business.
I don’t need to add to my exposure.

Is there an issue if the realtor handles the hiring of someone to provide the temporary power?

I would except that and do the inspection .

I would not do this.

But if you do make sure that you include all of the cost(s) incurred and mark them up. You will also be putting in more time on this inspection: setting up these sub contractors and the additional time onsite doing the coordination and waiting for them to get the house ready.

I would tell the realtor to set these things up themselves or just pass on the inspection.

Let us know what you end up doing.