I'm confused

Inspected a condo today. The HVAC system consisted of a split Lennox system with the outside unit model # HS29-024-2P and the indoor unit CB29M-21/26-1P. The outdoor unit does not have a reversing valve so its just an A/C unit (matches model number description). The indoor unit is an air handler with no other visible heat source (no gas lines etc. and again matches model number description). The thermostat is typical of those non heat pump thermostats (no emergency heat selection). So what do I have here? A purely electric heat system? The heat was working and I got a 20 degree rise.

I would appreciate any info form the experts.

Thanks
Jim

It just has electric heat strips in the unit James. If you would have removed the cover on the air handler you would see them in the top end.
FYI all heat pumps also have strips, which is what your running on the emergency heat setting of the thermostat.

Yeah, i"m used to the heat strips in a heat pump system. Just never run into a system that relies on them as primary heat.

Thanks Sean.

How’s Florida? It was 68 degrees up here in Tenn today. Course that’s probably a cold spell for you.

75 and light breeze. A little warmer this winter. Covered up and I have help 3 days a week.
50% of the units down here are straight a/c with heat strips. Its easy to check. Turn on heat and wait for smell. If it smells its working.

Thanks for the help. Im glad the transition went well for you.

Jim

Hello Sean.
Not ALL heat pumps use electric resistance heat for backup heat, some use propane or natural gas. I know that seems odd to you southerners.

James …

I’m confused here. How could you not know if you had electric heat?

Hints Like … 240v into air handler; taking cover off and looking; 240v breaker on air handler; 240 breaker in electrical panel labeled HEAT or FURNACE.

What exactly do you do in an inspection in Tennessee