Stainless only venting for Crown Boiler

Hello I am a fellow inspector up here by Duluth MN and just got a call from a past client (inspected house in July). He said he had a local contractor come out to service his Crown CSC 125 boiler and they refused. They told him that in order to do any work to it the venting would have to be replaced with stainless steel venting, currently has galvanized installed. They showed him in the book how this particular boiler calls for stainless steel and said its not to code so they won’t service it. He said it is icing up on the exterior in our extreme cold and that stainless will help that also? I think that’s a stretch.

Anyhow the new venting would cost $1152 and he wants me to pay for it. I have no problem with this if this is my mistake, but I was trying to explain to him that I cannot know every manufacturers spec for every furnace. Any ideas or advice is appreciated…

P.S The HVAC guy went as far to say that the home inspector should have caught this and the house should have never been sold like this.

Thanks
Travis

Travis you may have just been thrown under the bus it sounds kinda fishy to me what you need to do is go on line get the MFG installation manual and read it. It may or may not require stainless Personally I have never seen one with stainless and I have worked on 100 HP boilers that stand 12 feet tall

something smells.

http://www.crownboiler.com/manuals/content/All_Models/CSC%20Series%20(all%20models).pdf

I was just on that site and it states the material for the vent must be AL 294C Stainless steel for the 125 boiler

Page 9 of the manual I posted does not cover the 125 for some reason.

which page covers it?

The original installer is at fault either way IMHO.

Good luck.

I find reference from 50 to 150 it does not state specifically 125 but all flue exhaust is listed as stainless steel inclusive

I read that chart wrong and did not see the dash.