Dock Inspections

Hey folks,

I’m just beginning to look into adding dock inspections to our list of available services. If you offer this service or are looking into offering it too, I would greatly appreciate any tips, wisdom and insight.

Thanks a bunch and have a great one!

Jonathan Graham
HouseCalls Home Inspection Services

Nope…not here. I don’t own any scuba gear. :frowning:

Floats = OK
Sinking = Not OK

:mrgreen:

Thanks Stephen… :stuck_out_tongue: I knew my membership fees would finally pay off, I just never knew how worth it they’d be! (Now if only I can figure out how much to charge for such an extensive inspection…) :smiley:

Jonathon,

How are you planning to do these inspections? As an ex commercial diver that has inspected 100’s of docks, bridges, dams, and sea walls, I would be kind of sceptical if anyone wanted to do an inspection without actually getting in the water and digging down in the mud to find out what is really going on down below.

If you plan on getting wet, there are several books available through commercial diving supply houses that have forms and all the information you need to do basic inspections on docks. Keep in mind though, that as soon as you decide to start diving for money, you are considered to be doing commercial diving work and that is a whole case of can of worms you are going to open as far a legalities and insurance requirements. Commercial diving operation activities are regulated by several state and federal agencies.