How Would Yow Rate Your Add-Ons?

I am a newer inspector and I am still learning, adding certifications, and adding services. I recently went from offering only general home inspections to offering mold as well. I was surprised how well the mold inspecting has been received and it has been a great addition to my offerings. Based on that I went ahead and took the WDO class, since it doesn’t require major investments in equipment, and while wood infestation has been helpful, it hasn’t been as much as a home run as mold.

With 1 being the best, my services rated by success level look like this:
Mold

1. General Home Inspection
  2. Mold
  3. WDO

I keep reinvesting in my business and now I’m at a point where I’d like to continue adding services. I’m interested in your thoughts. How would you rate the performance of your services?

You can see from my other recent thread that I have already started radon classes, but one major advantage of being a one man operation is that I can be very flexible if something else looks better.

1 Like

What about radon, water, energy?

I only rated what I already offer. You can see at the end of my post I’m taking the radon classes. I’m trying to see what everyone else has had the most success with. This will help me prioritize as the funds come in to invest in more equipment.

We do Chimney inspections, sewer scopes, radon, mold, termites, lawn irrigation and dewinterizarion.

Chimney inspections are hands down the best thing I’ve ever added on. Radon is crap and we mostly sub it out now.

1 Like

What are you doing in regards to chimney inspections? (different then the home inspection) Level II? What training did you need to obtain.

Where I am, radon concentration levels are high so on average, 8 out of 10 clients I get want a radon test. Same for termite inspections since more and more lenders are requiring them.

Yes, I only do level 2’s. I won’t do a level 1 for someone buying a house. I am CSIA certified.