Flexible gas piping OK for exterior?

Does anyone know if CSST - the corrugated stainless steel flexible gas line - approved for exterior installation? Thank you in advance!

No code gurus around to help Bryan?

Since I know I have stalkers, I’ll post here to see if we can get Bryan some help. Hold on, Bryan. They’ll be here shortly, I think.

Thanks Russel - much appreciated. Also appreciate reading all your posts…

Bryan

What exactly do you mean by exterior installation?..I know it cannot be buried or touch the ground, but other than being used from Black Iron to say a Barbecue which is fine (appliance connector) I wouldn’t know what you mean by exterior.

I used to install this piping and went to all the certification classes for it when I was a fireplace installer. It cannot be buried. Other than that, you can put it anywhere (with proper strapping). It can run along the bottom of the entire house, out the soffits wherever.

Shane

Thanks, Shane.

Preferably in a workman like manner.:smiley: Some people just don’t get it.

jsw_p7060021.jpg

Maybe that was done in a workwoman-like manner. :shock: Uh-oh. :roll:

Remove the baffle from the dryer vent, also.

Hi Linda…I may be to late for help but I am certain it is not allowed to go thru walls.
Do not know the exact code off hand but would bet I am right.

**Piping

Customer owned piping shall be designed and installed in
accordance with the NFGC.

**Corrugated Stainless Steel Tubing

Corrugated Stainless Steel Tubing (CSST) is allowed for new
construction, remodeling, and retrofitting applications in residential
and light commercial structures. CSST shall meet the design and
installation requirements set forth in ANSI/AGA LC 1-1993.
CSST is not designed to be used as a flexible gas appliance
connector and shall not be used as a substitute. The use of CSST
as a final connection for permanently installed appliances, such
as water heaters, furnaces, and boilers is allowed. CSST shall