Hot water won't drain

I’ve been inspecting for almost 18 years and haven’t seen this. Today I did see it in a multi million dollar condo. It happened in 2 of 4 bath sinks. Cold drains great, runs right down. Hot stops draining almost completely, builds up in the sink as fast as it comes out of the faucet. Reactions are immediate. Add cold to the hot setting in the sink and it flows right down. Showed the agent so she would believe the report. Checked a few times during the inspection and it didn’t change. Looking for an explanation. Thanks.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=

I have been inspecting 20 + years…
I have no idea what you are suggesting
just report and defer for further review
that is what we as home inspectors do…

Thanks Jeff, sounds reasonable, but not really convinced. One sink had the small holes in the drain cover, the other had a regular pop-up. Irregular situation, so I am curious.

I believe the problem is caused by a combination of three things:

• No secondary overflow in the sink
  • Plate over the drain with the small holes
  • Vapor pressure of hot water versus cold water

First the holes in the plate covering the drain are considered an orifice. There are equations that calculates the flow rate through a round orifice. The equation says the smaller the hole the lower the flow rate and the higher the pressure difference between the inlet and outlet of the orifice the faster the flow. If you had a bucket of water and you punched a small hole in the bottom the inlet pressure is the height of the water above the orifice. The pressure on the outlet side of the orifice is zero, because it’s draining into open air. As the water drains out the inlet pressure goes down which reduces the flow rate.