Pex in Attic

Hello. I am a student working on getting my professional inspector license in San Antonio, TX… I am about a 20% into the course work so I am by no means “qualified” to be professional inspector; I do though have quite a bit of experienced in home repair and maintenance so I have a good I idea of code and proper installation of components etc. And I am a member of this organization and I plan on utilizing all of its benefits to further my educations. Now that I am a student I take every opportunity to look at home I enter an look for deficiencies and defects. A friend of mine just purchased a home that had been “upgraded” and flipped, I am doing some minor punch list work and I took the opportunity to walk around the house and do a very informal look at some of the “upgrades”. I looked in the attic and noticed that all of the plumbing that once was in the slab had been replaced by pex and was now in the attic. San Antonio is a temperate climate and it rarely gets below freezing and I know pex is more resilient when is comes to freeze ups as the plastic tends to expand as needed. But I am concerned with the brass fittings at the 90’s and splices freezing on the odd nights when it get down to the twenties. Extra insulation, blown cellulose, had been added and the pex is running on top. So counting on the heat from the house keeping the pipe from freezing is reduced. My major concern though is, it gets very hot here. We can go for three months with 100 plus days. And I’m afraid that the water lines are going to get very hot. I am sure the attic temperatures could possibly get up into the high hundreds on a 105 degree day here. And since the composition shingles are black, the radiant heat could possibly bring the water in the pipes to boiling point.??? First, there us the possibility of scald if the water temp in the lines get above 130 degrees plus and I am concrened that the pipes themselves may not be able to with- stand the expansion of the heated wate