Pipeline cameras?

I am thinking about buying a pipeline camera and I am asking for any info others may have.
Thanx,
Todd

I have a Spartan (150 capability) that I offer at all inspections. Few people want to have it used. Has killed a few and won a few sales. If you use them to do local town lines make sure you get E&O ins. I only do residential.

How much did it cost and what do you charge to do it?

I would steer clear of that unless I was a licensed plumber. Ask a plumber and he will most likely tell you that the best way to test for sanitary line leaks is to perform a hydrostatic test.

Cameras are used in this area for a lot more than sanitary leaks. I have had past calls to scope out A/C ducts embedded in the slabs especially where the water table was high. I have considered buying a camera myself just for the ducts but changed my mind when I saw the price. I went to the ridge tool company web site and looked at the prices don’t remember now what they were asking but It was more than I was willing to pay for the possible return.

I would think it is kinda like those that told me Suretests are exceeding the SOP and I should not teach about them. Same could go for Thermal Imaging as well…anything that exceeds the visual is subject to this verbage.

Personally i am all for technology… I say bring on the Thermals, the camera’s and more testing devices…:slight_smile: but then again thats just me.

I bought mine used for $5000 and I charge $60/hr. usually finish in 1 hr. but you’d be suprised as to what you can find. Even chased a frog though the line once. That job turned into a $1500 job.

1 other guy around here “Septic cleaning co.” charges $120/hr for res. But he has all the towns locked up at $175/hr. I always wanted 1 so I bought it. “Boy’s and their toys”

We have one plumbing co here with a camera and they charge $200/ per hour. The difference between a boy and a man is the price of his toys.:slight_smile: :slight_smile: