Plumbing Supply Tubing

I recently heard that the supply tubes shown in this photo may be prone to failure at the crimp. Has anyone else heard anything about a weakness.
Some plumbers are saying to replace them with solid metal supply tubes.

100.jpg

100.jpg

I hope not! I have them all over my house! :smiley:

I wouldn’t recommend the service of those plumbers. Steel braided hoses are the way to go.

Are those plumbers trying to maximize their hourly labor charges???

Those stainless steel braided supply lines are best out there…

I have been building and renovating homes for almost 20 years and have never heard of such a problem. I wouldn’t use anything else but these for faucet and fixture connections. They are great for the washing machine and dishwasher too.

i see the steel ones all the time, the problem is when you have to do any maintenance on the faucet (like when the bib screw on the stem comes out an fall down into the supply line) you ususaly have to bend and kink the steel ones to get it out. i’ve put in probably 1000 braided lines and have seem maybe 6 that failed. .6%? not bad in my book. plus they now come with an anti-burst valve for added safty. if the flow threw the line is over that of the average (not sure how it’s set) faucet, it shuts the little valve stopping the flood. i was looking online for a pic, but no one has 'em online yet, but i just intalled some at my brothers house, so i know they exist.

That sounds like a very nice feature. I’ll have to look for it.:wink:

yeah. it’s a little silver cylender near the shut off valve, between the compression nut and the crimp for the line itself. i watched a demo were the guy took a pair of tin snips, and cut strait threw the line while it was charged with street pressure, it spilled about 1 cup of water and stopped dead. doesn’t work for a leak at the crimp, but a leak is easier to deal with than a burst.