How to prove tree damage to water main without digging.

Hello, I’m an architect in Arizona and had my water main to my house burst due to tree roots.

I’m trying to get my home owners association (HOA) to pay for the damaged line. To do so I have to prove that the HOA’s maintained tree did the damage. I don’t want to start digging the tree up as I believe that the line was directly under it, and could damage the very large mature tree. When I repaired it I routed it around the tree. I’m wondering if someone knows of someone in forensic engineering that could take a look at my photos or make a site visit and write a letter stating that the cause had to of been the tree. Does anyone know of such an engineer in the Tucson area, or Arizona registered that could help?

I’m also open to other suggestions as well. I’m not sure if a camera could be put down a 1" water line, or if it would prove anthing if we did.

I’m open to suggestions. Thanks,

Jake Boen

You might want to Google something like this for your area…
http://www.hydro-physics.com/
I know our local rep for this outfit does that kind of non-intrusive examination
of pipes, and its highly regarded.

It’s a 1" water line for crying out loud. Why would you want to spend the time, effort, money and aggravation for this? It couldn’t have been that expensive to repair it…was it?

Here in Northeast Ohio the **home owner is responsable **for the water line from the meter to the street. The utility companies offer protection programs that cost about $4 a month. In both homes I have owned the waterlines broke and I saved about 6K total.

What are the requirements in Arizona?

We also have a program call before you dig so that they can mark the utility lines so someone doesnt damage them.

Jake,
Did you try the BTR? They should hopefully be of some help.

Well, there you go…that’s why I don’t do cost estimates. :eek:

I have to agree with some of the others here Jake. It will likely not be worth pursuing this.