Trap weird and crown weir

I am kind of new to all this so please bare with me =).

I am a little confused and could someone help explain this to me.

“Standpipes should extend at least 18 inches and no more than 42 inches above the trap weir.”

"The standpipe should be at least 30 inches high measured from the crown weir. "

The way I understood it was the trap weir is the part where the water leaves the trap, and the crown was the highest point of the trap.

Lets say a standpipe was 18" above the trap weir how could it possibly be 30 inches above the crown?

Thanks,

Dave

1 Like

You’re referencing three different dimensions. 18" is the minimum, 42" is the maximum and 30" is “optimal.”

The dimension is measured from the top of the weir.

1 Like

http://www.nachi.org/gallery/%between%

[quote=“rsmith24, post:3, topic:55346”]

http://www.nachi.org/gallery/[

David,

FYI… (ref: posted graphic)

Here in the land of basements, the trap is almost always located below the slab (95% of the time).

Always check with your local AHJ for the areas you operate in.

Jeff

PS… Welcome!](“http://www.nachi.org/forum/../gallery/”)

This one wasn’t in the slab. I called it out, only 8". Also I am thinking the tape is not allowed, correct?

Interesting. …

**HERE **in the land of basements, the trap is almost always located above the slab (99+% of the time).

This one wasn’t in the slab. I called it out as it was only 8" above the the top of the weir. Also I am thinking the tape is not allowed, correct?

They must have funny plumbing sytems in Mn. Here in the other land traps are throughout the the house , where needed ! ;):D:D

What did you say about the T being horizontal instead of vertical?

So, the question remains, where is the OP located? (That be you David):wink:

Thanks guys I am located in Michigan but will be taking my NHIE exam soon to be able to do inspections in Indiana also.