What is this valve?

I am a licensed plumber and I hate to admit that I have never seen one of these. Any ideas? It is on the incoming line from the well. It has open setting in the middle and graduated degrees going up each side. No other markings or numbers. Thanks for any help!!

it has some writing on it but i cannot read it… is that something to do with a filter system? future use?

maybe to control flow.

http://images.google.com/imgres?imgurl=http://www.pondsolutions.com/images/3-way-pvc-valve.jpg&imgrefurl=http://www.pondsolutions.com/pump-tubing.htm&usg=__TJCC5IpR46X6TZZpQlO2jrxhvmk=&h=285&w=326&sz=21&hl=en&start=8&sig2=wZTz3hCqtnqL9wtN725J2g&um=1&tbnid=hRizvudWgIBQcM:&tbnh=103&tbnw=118&ei=w-SqScnCHYTVnQfWyZT5Dw&prev=/images%3Fq%3Dwell%2Bvalve%2Bwith%2Bdegrees%2Bsettings%26um%3D1%26hl%3Den%26rlz%3D1B3GGGL_enUS306US306%26sa%3DN

The writing was just open and the stages of degrees you could open or close it. It was like a balancing valve of some kind. There was an elaborate filtering/softening system. OH SOFT softeners. It really doent matter to the buyers they are going to ask the sellers but I was wanting to know for future reference.

Is there an external appliance? BBQ, Water Heater, etc.

Tom

No, appliances that Ican tell.

Looks like a circuit setter of some sort for pressure and flow.
Hope someone can identify it.
I am curious too!:):smiley:

I think it is an Air Eliminator typically used in Hydronic Heating systems.