Turn on the water???

I am often asked to turn the water on in homes that have been winterized. I refuse to do this since this could case massive damage and problems for everyone involved. I often make a second trip and send an invoice to the selling realtor.

Does this happen to any of you and how do you respond?

i never turn any water valves in any home…especially one that’s winterized.

i have been asked a time or two.

As a former contractor I would second both the above. I would not advise Inspectors to turn shut off valves ( to anything) either on or off.
From my experience valves that have not been used for a while will very often leak from the stem packing or “o” ring washer that will result in water weeping up through the tap spindle.
A home owner would probably be in their rights to charge an Inspector for repair or damage.

If you are so inclined, learn the proper method of de-winterizing/re-winterizing…Then charge @200.00
per.

If you are not inclinded…(me either)…educate the buyer
that it is the seller/buyer (no difference) agent’s responsibility
to take care of “make ready” issues.

FYI,
VA makes the buyer bear the cost of de/re winterizing…
HUD puts the responsibility on the listing entity…

The property should be in operable status when/before the inspection
is performed.

I lost an inspection awhile ago because the buyer asked a few questions about a foreclosure that was winterized. I explained thoroughly about how I cannot turn the water or power on and they would need to get permission etc.
Before I knew it they said “Oh…I was looking for someone who would do it all… thanks, bye”.

I’m sure after she made a few more calls she realized this was the norm and booked someone else. Sounded like a price shopper anyways.

It’s tempting to add this as a stand alone service, however there is a standard fee to be charged… this is outside the realm of “inspector”…

I would not consider doing this as a “value added service” as part of the inspection.