Water Off

Hello All,

I know this is pretty standard, My client is giving me a hard time because I will not turn on the water to the property that he wants me to inspect.
He clams the house has been winterized.
I told him that the SOP states I am not required to do so.
I would rather loose the inspection than take on the liability.
Any suggestions, does anyone agree with me?:neutral:
</IMG>

Mark, read tthrough a few of these

I may help to have some stories of unintentional consequences to tell.

I am a responsible professional so I choose not to take certain actions because I don’t like the chances that something will go wrong. Others can if they like.

Yes! I agree with you Mark. Check out the link to threads Larry provided.

You are correct. The water may have been turned off due to a broken pipe. It may have been turned off for winterization purposes. It may have been turned off for a variety of reasons that we as inspectors would have no knowledge about. It could have been turned off by the owner. It could have been turned off by the utility. It could have been turned off by a listing agent. There is too much liability for us to turn ANY utility on without specific written instructions that include a full disclaimer. And even with that, I wouldn’t do it.

If it is such a small deal to the buyer, have them or their realtor turn it on.

That’s what I have done.:wink:

I know, sometimes it can be quite fun. :slight_smile:

I just say my insurance company does not cover me for turning on the water supply. As soon as you put the blame on the insurance company, people seem to understand and just accept it. By saying that the SOP doesn’t cover it, it gives them the impression you are just being lazy. It’s all about perception and perspective. Most people know what a PITA insurance companies can be, but very few clients have actually sat down and read a set of SOP’s.

Thank You Gentlemen,