Newbie here with a slab "standards" question

Wow, what a site. :shock: I belong to a Mopar site but it’s nowhere as intense-looking as this. There, I have now established my level of ignorance so I’ll go on… :roll:

I am a new homeowner, been in my home in Texas for 1 year and 1 month, and have 98 things wrong with it. I know my slab is not level due to 2 separate Compu-Level assessments within the last 2 months. I am in dispute with the builder and am having to go through the S.I.R.P. process currently.
What I need to find is:

Where can I get a print-out of what variance is allowed and what is not in the level of my slab? I thought I heard it was 1" in any 20’ measure but need something on paper to reflect that.

HELP!

440cj

Robert,

Check with your local county planning commission…they should be able to provide you with code and verbage.

Stevo

Robert,

First I wish you luck in your situation!

The publications covering minimum standards of performance for foundations and major structural components can be found on the TRCC WEB site at: http://www.trcc.state.tx.us/consumers/state_min_warranties.asp As of this response the link is at the very bottom of the page. That standard will list the maximum deflection requirements of a slab foundation. Also note that links to the remaining warranty items are listed on that page.

If I may ask where you are located and who your home builder is? Also have you had other major problems? How have you done so far with the SIRP process? We do not hear of many cases that go through the SIRP process and it helps us, as Inspectors, better understand it through the experiences of others.