Go Back   InterNACHI Inspection Forum > >

Inspection Hardware, Software & Publications What hardware, software, books, videos, etc have you found useful? What would you like to see more of? This topic is to discuss various inspection-related products and publications.

Old 3/13/18, 9:32 PM
Student Inspector
Default Home Inspector pro 5

I am a fairly new inspector as well and currently I'm using home Inspector pro 5. I found that i takes me just as long to do the back-in report at home as it does to do the inspection. I've seen some comments about software, however a bit confusing if I should be what i have and live with it or get an Ipad and try to reduce the amount of time that it takes by syncing. Of course this is more money. I don't mind spending the money if that's wants needed. I just don't want to pay double if it's not. I just want the best out there so i may reduce the time with the at home report. Can anyone tell me which way to go? have anyone use the above and found a better product?
Need a home inspection in Hawaii? Check out InterNACHI's listing of Hawaii certified home inspectors. Or, find a home inspector anywhere in the world with our inspection search engine.
Old 3/13/18, 10:08 PM
Certified Professional Inspector (CPI)
Default Re: Home Inspector pro 5

If you write your report at home, of course it is going to take twice as long. Collecting information is one step, if you choose to write it down, take pictures or notes or whatever during data collection, then you are limiting yourself regardless of what software you use. If you have to go over all your notes and pictures a 2nd time because you choose to not use a mobile device, you have chosen to cost yourself more time. First you inspect the electrical system on site and take notes and pics, now you are home and for all intents and purposes you are going through the whole inspection again in order to write your report.