Inspection tools: Flashlights

What is the best, compact inspection flashlight in terms of total output and battery longevity? I appreciate any recommendations you may have.

I have a bevy of lights Mark. My recent favorite is the Ultrastinger very bright. about $89.00. I can do three or four inspections between charges.

I also have some 1,000,000 candle power lights for attics and crawl spaces. These cost about $10.00 to $30.00 rechargeable with lead acid batteries they go about an hour flat out on a charge.

And I have a 3 c cell mag lite just in case. Oh yea and a carbide lamp.:wink:

I have the Stinger ( 1,000,000) candle power and also a Large Floor Light ( 15,000,000) candle power. The downside to teh stinger is 1 hour is just not enough for me when I am poking around in a crawl, attic and dim utility room so it never seems to make it to the end of my inspections…lol…Yes, I am a slow inspector who looks for everything.

The nice thing about the 15,000,000 candle power one is it can sit in a crawl or attic and light the whole thing…got it from costco for like 50 bucks.

Blind inspectors do not need light - they just feel their way

Thank you very much for your rapid responses! I believe this gives me what I needed. Much obliged.:wink:

I have several Pelican lights. Extremely tough and used by many Firefighters. check out their website
www.beaconww.com

www.pelicanlights.com

Dang…I did not know you were blind Richard…sorry to hear that.

One can buy 500,000 and 1,000,000 candlepower flashlights at the sporting goods stores for $9.99 to $39.99, depending on the sale. At that price, I buy whatever I need to always have two flashlights for each inspector. One is in each employee’s tool bucket and one is in each employee’s car. That way we’re never without light. Additionally, they are rechargeable using the car’s cigarette lighter, so we can recharge them driving between inspections.

Also check out this older thread (from the archives)…