What else do members want from InterNACHI? Post your suggestions.

No one hires a home inspector so that they can find out if their dishwasher was recalled. No one buys a Lamborghini to get the 6-CD changer. In other words, it doesn’t cause a consumer to choose you.

Furthermore, it likely pisses off agents who would never admit that they aren’t too happy with their home inspector going outside his/her Standards of Practice and checking stuff for recalls or checking for missing building permits or checking for local crime statistics. It’s just not our job and agents don’t want you sticking your nose where it doesn’t belong. I was a top-producing agent for years, I have 10,000 friends who are agents, I know how agents think. For every agent who compliments you for checking something that you weren’t hired to check (those are the agents you hear from), there are 25 agents who are quietly thinking: “I’ll never recommend him again.”