looking for actual data on pre listing inspection success

Good morning:

Many articles I have read refer to pre listing inspections resulting in a higher sale price and a shorter “on the market” time.

I have not, however, been able to find any empiracle documented numbers to support this. It, of course, would seem logical to assume that if a homeowner would make repairs prior to listing the home that this would be the case.

The reality here would suggest that a prospective buyer would have comfort in the pre listing report if it equivically states that the home is indeed structurally sound and safe,for example.

Since there is so much emotion in the buying process, I wonder if actually this can be a proven premis.

Perhaps someone might just have such information and would be comfortable sharing this.

I thank you in advance.

Bill Marston :cool:

Co mon guys. I know I am new in the business and all. With all the expertise and knowledge out there, surely someone has an answer.

Thanks

Bill Marston

I do not have the data, but I would simply suggest that providing a written report is looked upon as providing a “professional opinion”. I rarely have done or would accept pre-inspections. First and foremost from the burden of “potential liability” that is “could or might” bring to the inspector.

What purpose could the report serve? Likely many others will have an opportunity to see and use the report for a very different purpose than intended for the original client. Remember that the purchaser is not obligated to adhere to the same terms as the original client.

http://www.canlii.org/en/ab/abqb/doc/2007/2007abqb175/2007abqb175.html
http://www.canlii.org/en/ab/abpc/doc/2002/2002abpc152/2002abpc152.html