How not to proceed to become a Home Inspector

It requires the skill of about 15 different trades to build the average one-family dwelling, of which licensed electricians, plumbers and heating & cooling mechanics have to complete a five-year apprenticeship plus classroom training.

In comparison - home inspectors are expected to have general knowledge about all of these trade practises, plus its mechanical equipment. Even potential health hazards have to be addressed nowadays to stay out of trouble.

It is unrealistically to assume that novices can learn how to inspect homes by simply enrolling into a training course for a couple of weeks or even month. Since there is virtually no opportunity for on the job training, newcomers should at last have sufficient theoretical knowledge before venturing out performing fee-paid inspections without practical experience.

None of us self-taught old timers had any guidance or model how to proceed. But what kept us out of trouble were the novelty and simplicity of the service we introduced and provided.

We all addressed only major shortcomings or repair requirements of financial consequence, and generally issued four to five pages of typewritten reports to document our inspection results. Customers did not expect that we should address potential health hazzards or environmental issues. I am not aware of any lawsuits filed against home inspectors regarding these matters at that time. However - I suspect that my first two hundred inspection reports would not withstand scrutiny when challenged by today’s standards or current consumer expectations.