Stay out of court

http://www.abqjournal.com/517999/biz/favor-lands-novice-inspector-in-court.html

Favor lands novice inspector in court

·
By Barry Stone / Syndicated columnist](http://www.abqjournal.com/author/barrystone)
PUBLISHED: Sunday, December 28, 2014 at 12:05 am

DEAR BARRY: I’ve been a home inspector for about two years, so I’m still learning.
Unfortunately, I just learned a very hard lesson after doing a free walk-through inspection as a favor for a real-estate agent who was buying a high-rise condo.
Eight months later, he is suing me because he found fogging between the panes of a large dual-pane window. The controversial window is on the 15th floor, and the cost to replace it is $2,500. The agent had the window replaced before notifying me of the problem, and now he expects me to pay for it. We’re scheduled for small-claims court next month, and I’d like some advice in presenting my side of the story to the judge. – Tim
Dear Tim: Welcome to the enervating world of home inspection and real-estate disclosure. Good deeds, as they say, may not go unpunished.
As this is not a legal advice column, I can only counsel you as a layman and a home inspector. Additional advice from an attorney is strongly advised before representing your side of the story in court.
Since you did the inspection as a favor, you probably do not have a signed contract to specify the scope of the inspection or the limits of liability. Nevertheless, here are some effective points that can make a positive difference when presenting your case to the judge:
· This was not a paid home inspection but merely a casual walkthrough, performed as a personal favor, and therefore is not subject to the same standards as a full home inspection.
· You inspected the windows, and no evidence of a faulty dual-pane seal was apparent at that time.
· The agent also did not see the window defect prior to purchasing the property, indicating the defect was not apparent or was nonexistent at that time.