Tips on getting a commercial job

I am new to the business. Do any of you veterans have any advice for me on how to find a commercial inspection job to bid on? Thanks in advance.

Have you ever done a commercial inspection?
Do you have a website?

No. I have no website and have never done an inspection, period. I just got my license last week and I am working on my site now. I will start business as soon as I complete the 4 mock inspection requirement of InterNACHI’s and get my site online. But, I could start bidding beforehand for a job in the future if I knew where to look. Please help a newbie:D

You are clueless.

Start here… http://www.nachi.org/comsop.htm

Then here… Commercial Property Inspection Prerequisite Course - InterNACHI®

And then here… http://www.nachi.org/commercial-electrical-inspections.htm

I’m very interested in commercial inspections also. I need to get behind a guy with some serious experience before I take one on my own, pricing is different, systems are different, just the electric is a whole new thing not to mention roof top HVAC systems up to and including flashing, roofing and insulation systems.

I know some of this stuff but don’t know an equal amount.

Good luck bidding.

I admire your obvious confidence and desire but running before walking is not recommended in this business. I would perform a few hundred residential inspections first before thinking about commercial.
Good luck…,

And to further address your beginning education on commercial… Advanced Commercial Property Code Inspection Exam Prep - InterNACHI®

When you get done with that, only then will I begin feeling even remotely comfortable discussing your request and turning you loose into the Commercial Inspection Industry.

Personally, unless you have an experienced commercial inspector training you, you should not even consider bidding and performing commercial jobs until you are fluent in Residential inspecting.