Ash Smell

I have been smelling ash in my apartment for several months. Because I caught a cold and didn’t shake it for about 6 weeks, I ignored the problem because I thought it was me. Since then, my cold is gone, smell is worse, the fire department(checked for carbon monoxide) and building manager cannot smell or find any problems.

My apartment is above the furnace/ hot water tank room. Building was built as condos in the 70’s. The heat is radiated and obviously not on now. The cooking stoves in the building are all electric and the hot water tank is about 1 1/2 -2 years old.

I live on the first level and on a suburban main street. Although, my windows do not face the street, the driveway to enter parking is on the side of the bath and bedroom. The roof on the other side of the driveway was just replaced but no heating was necessary.

This problem has been around for quite awhile (more than 6 months) but I didn’t recognize there was a problem until I caught the cold.

I have always had white dust in my apartment but I always thought it was due to the proximity to the street. I have lived here for about 9 years. I cannot use the a/c because previous tenant had cats and the a/c still had cat dander. It needs to be replaced but I cannot afford. My windows are open 365 days a year.

Because I am home more often lately, the problem is wiping me out. I can’t concentrate, I have dry ears on outside but extra wax inside, eyes go from watery to burning, wake at night because I am choking with a dry cough, clay-like feeling on skin, chemical taste in mouth, headaches, short-term memory problems, light-headed, coughing that is so hard that it hurts my ribs, vomiting of phlegm, dryness in throat, lack of appetite but gaining weight, and the worst part is the ASH smell.