I've received a few VERY similar phone calls last couple weeks

**About 4-5 times in the last few weeks, I’ve received phone calls with similar verbage

“***Our broker wants an inspector who is a Licensed General Contractor AND a certified inspector, do you meet those requirements and if so would you be willing to be on our list??? You guys are hard to find”

*A few of these were from folks I’ve NEVER done business with…

Another inspector I know said there were some insurance changes a couple months ago that are catching up to them right now and he was trying to get some things squared away before being dropped. He gets a lot more direct referrals from real estate offices than I do.

I am a General Contractor as well, just thought it was strange.
Anyone else???

They want someone who can find the defects, quote a quote, and then do the repairs. Kind of a one stop shop for them. One call does it all. Won’t they be disappointed when you tell them you won’t do the repairs? :mrgreen:

I def. see your point, but I don’t really ever get asked (correction, much) about doing the work and haven’t ever done a repair on something I’ve looked at.

As mentinoed, a fellow inspector indicated some changes that some brokerages were going through with insurance.

Time will tell

Actually I don’t have any more of a problem with you doing the repairs than I do with my mechanic doing the repairs on my car so it will pass the state inspection he does on it.

While I don’t do the work myself, that is a point of our COE that I don’t agree with. But that’s just my opinion. :slight_smile: Keep us informed about what you learn with that.

Home Based Realty is the only one in your area that I know of doing this. They had this conversation with me as well.

This was commonplace when home inspections were first becoming popular in the 80’s and 90’s. Now, it’s “old-school” thinking that could cause more trouble to the broker than good. . .