Possible Career Change

I’ve recently been considering making a career change and becoming a home inspector, If anyone would be interested in giving some advice, it would be greatly appreciated.
A little background. I’m a licensed contractor (C and a B) and have been working as a superintendent for a custom home builder for twelve years. I think my current experience and background in the construction industry, especially the custom home market, would make this an ideal career choice. Hard work and long hours are not new to me.
A few concerns I have are 1) Is this a saturated market. 2) How long did it take for some of you to build up a clientele to sustain a profitable business? 3) Education?
Thanks in advance to anyone who responds.

Where are you located?

Long Beach, CA

Plan on at least a year to get significant work. It really depends on how hard you market.

All markets reach equilibrium. In other words the demand for home inspections = the number of home inspectors needed. True for home inspections. True for coffee shops. True for pizza delivery. If you are waiting for a freak time in the market for demand for inspections to be much greater than the supply of inspectors able to perform those inspections… business isn’t for you.

It took me about a month to line up all my marketing. I then launched it all at once like a Blitzkrieg. Within 3 weeks of launch, I was swamped and stayed swamped for my entire 5.5 year career as a home inspector. Within the first 3 months I had four 2-man crews and one office manager. That is the perfect (profitable sweet spot) size IMHO and I stayed exactly that size until the day I sold the very profitable company.

www.nachi.org/education.htm Not even a close second.

Can you come to our Ontario, California meeting on the 16th? It’s going to be huge.

Unfortunately I will be out of town that week.