Financing and leasing options for your infrared camera.

http://www.nachi.org/fnlease2008.htm

Hey Nick,
I hope allis well. are you back from Vegas?
I want to know about thermal imaging, and how much it can help my business. I am new to the industry and with the home sales market down. I love the idea behind a preventative type of inspection and an energy conservation inspection. Which has brought me the point I want to know about and that is, will an imaging camera help my business and should I buy or lease one? and what kind should i get, if I do decide to incorperate thermal imaging into my company?

There are 4 major advantages to having an IR camera as I see it.

1. You can do a better home inspection with it.
  2. You can charge extra for it.
  3. You can add additional services (like energy audits) with it.
  4. You can use it as a marketing tool.

An energy conservation inspection using IR is of limited use unless you want to pull the wool over the clients eyes with ads and claims that are misleading and simply make you money!!

An IR scan is definitely not an “energy audit”!!

But much more difficult without an IR camera.

We have a large national program of residential energy audits going on here in Canada. It’s been in place for 5-6 years now and…an IR camera is not required…hundreds of $millions, if not $billions, of retrofit work is being carried out.

An IR camera will enhance a good energy audit and save a bit of time but you still need the other stuff…blower door, furnace efficiency test kit, an accurate, easy-to-use computer program to evaluate investment options, and the most important thing…good energy auditor training.

I saddened to say that out auditor training is not the best…too short and not enough field experience before they’re allowed to be in the field…sound familiar???

James i add $ 16K IN sales my first year…

As to buy or lease. Buy a use camera There was a FLIR B2 on ebay