IR for newbies

I would like to use this thread for IR newbies to post and please use this to learn. I am new to IR (been inspecting since 2002) and have a Flir E8.

No such thing as a stupid question. My goal is to better learn the industry.
Experienced IR welcome, please be professional as this is to learn. If you want to ridicule anyone direct to me. I have been known to be a dumb head at times.

I have found ITC free webinars and basic info to cameras and buildings to be very helpful.

My first image question is at the rear entry, vinyl floor has lifted. I would say this is moisture related. (could be just lifted from poor adhesion as well) I did not test with a meter (I know I should have)
I think part of the blue is from me walking on with snow. It was very cold out and this is at a unheated entry to a heated space. What are your thoughts!!

340417 150.jpg

340417 149.jpg

Here is another related to boiler radiators. One question would be can you properly use IR on radiators with the register covers on? What would you say on these images if anything?

The home had 3 floors above the basement and this was on the 1st floor.

340417 144.jpg

340417 143.jpg

Yes, “shooting the hole” works just fine, but you must adjust transparency settings if your using qualitative temp assessment.

That is not available in many low end cameras now is it?! :cool:

You must be mindful of the effects of “YOU” being in the scanned area. You will see your own footprints (even with shoes on) with appropriate TI Equipment all the time.

Could you explain in layman’s terms? (I think I need to review that material again and again)

Is the iron palette best (rainbow is prettier)?
I just want to point and shoot. My camera keeps defaulting to the MX settings.

Seems like I am being more patient with the self focus as my images seem more clearer.