Transparent material for thermal imaging

Hope i came to the right forum, I’m looking for materials that thermal imaging can see through.

My application is actually paintball, with FLIR coming out with the new Flir One camera for Iphone 5, http://www.flir.com/flirone/#case-2

i’m designing a protective aluminum housing for the phone, my background is CAD/CAM and CNC machining so i can do all the things needed to manufacturing the housing, but i have little experience with lens and thermal imaging.

The problem is, this camera will inevitably take a paintball to the lens(paintball’s at 300fps produce around 18ftlbs or 24joules of energy) and since I can’t just stick a piece of plexiglass or acrylic in front of it, i have a potential $350 broke piece of equipment.

Now I’ve read up on the popular materials for the specific wavelength 8-14um which is mostly germanium and I’ve been contacting a few suppliers for quotes on some flat, disk windows but none of them are below a price feasible for something that will inevitably need replaces with prolong use.

With long hours of research I was about to stop looking until i ran across a random youtube video;

Now i can design the housing to mechanically absorb most of the impact and hopefully the plastic can hold up to the remaining energy and keep the lens clean. What i don’t know is the specific plastic used(i read somewhere polystyrene?) Since the actual lens of the IR camera will only be around .2", i think a mildly thick plastic would work but I was hoping some of you that have a lot more experience and knowledge than i, could give some advice or possibly know any other materials feasible for this application.

TL;DR
Do you know of any materials that thermal imaging can see through?

Silicon

Plastic bag.

http://www.larsonelectronicglass.com/viewports/fused-silica.html

Good for rain or if they were just tossing the paintballs to each other. :slight_smile: