Move In Certified Question

I have been marketing the Move in certified program for 2 Years and it’s great. Two offices in the Area have every house inspected before they go to Market.

Now some legal eagle has a Question???

Can I get some help on how to respond?

From the e-mail I received last night.

In one of your listings there is some wording that could cause some challenges
later. Using the word “certified” indicates that something, in this case a home,
has met certain standards that were set by an entity who had the authority to do so.
Is there
a certification process that you are specifically referring to on this home? If
there is a certificate from someone who is issuing them on properties I’d like to
review it for my own knowledge, if not, it’s best to use another word or phrase. I
have seen
this one other time, but don’t know of an actual certification process. Please let
me know if there is one out there.

Thank you in advance for all that can help

Mike

Anyone can certify anything. The home owners are certifying that the home is ready to move in and that all major concerns and safety items found on a specific date, and documented in a specific inspection report have been fixed.

Enough said.

Contact this NACHI member. He does 70 a month and may be able to help:

From www.MoveInCertified.com

MoveInCertified homes have been pre-inspected by InterNACHI certified inspectors and the sellers confirm that there are no major systems in need of immediate repair or replacement and no known safety hazards.

So technically, the residence is not “move in certified” until the necessary repairs have been made - after the inspection? And these corrections are “certified” by the seller?

Yes, but are they issuing a certificate? I believe that is the question.

Bingo, and the question was, is the seller issuing a certificate to back up the claim.

Got a link to the MIC contract?

I use my regular contract.