Turn them in, or look the other way?

I’m inspecting a house Friday, and obtained a copy of an inspection report done in 2016 by a company whose name I will withhold. To put it mildly, I was appalled. The inspection form consisted of a list of boilerplate deficiencies with checkboxes next to them. No narrative whatsoever. Photos thrown in batches with no captions or context. The people don’t even know how to spell “breaker” for Pete’s sake. Absolutely the most worthless report I have ever laid eyes on, and as a former Realtor, I have seen quite few.

Standard TREC format is nowhere to be seen. Absolutely none of the preamble required. Deficiencies not separated into the 6 main categories (done by room). Not defined as to I, NI, NP, D. No mention of static water pressure, and who knows what else.

I wish I could post it, but I would have to go through 23 pages to redact the company and property info.

This is one of those bottom feeding $225/inspection outfits, but that’s really not the issue. An inspection like this is worthless, and it galls me that folks operate like this while the rest of us pay attention to the laws of the state.

I’m tempted just to print this out and mail it to TREC and let them sort it out. What say you, gents?

So send it to TREC. If they think there are issues, they can deal with it according to their regulations. TREC may or may not do anything. Screw that “we are one big brotherhood” sentimentality. Bad inspectors should be turned in and run out of business. They taint the whole industry.

William I would not mail it away We have many who start this industry regularly and most fail .
Its always been this way ,Not worth the effort , My opinion … Roy

Texas administrative code wants you to.

I’m less cut and dried…

1 Like

TREC will not accept it and/or not act on it unless it is accompanied by a formal written complaint. TREC does not want to do any work regardless of what our rules say we must do.