Relocating to the Austin area

Hi guys, my name is Fred Hernden. I am currently a Home Inspector in the Tampa, Florida area. I will be relocating to the Austin area at the end of this month. Moving closer to my hunny, kids and grandkids. I have been in business here for 8 years. I know it will be a task and a challenge to establish my business out there, but I am a pretty confident guy so there is no doubt in my mind I will be successful. I have been communicating with TREC and TPREIA for license requirements, as they are different than they are in Florida. Looking forward to meeting fellow Inspectors and being active with the local Austin Chapter!
Any recommendations or advice will be greatly appreciated!!

Ok, back to packing… :smiley:

Good luck

Thank you Frank… I will need it!!

Round rock and Austin are growing fast. Look into new construction inspections. Good luck

That would be correct for the major cities in TX. Lots of money to be made in phase inspections!

Good Luck Fred,:cool:

Thanks guys! I know lots of tech companies are bringing in people from California to the area. I was there in April and saw LOTS of construction going on! I will be there July 1st. Thanks for the support!!

Welcome to the Lone Star State! Plenty of work to go around…I think you will see.

Thank you Richard, I agree!

I look forward to hearing your opinions about the requirements in Texas VS where you came from…

George, I can tell you right now the license requirements are tougher in Texas. There is no 3 step process starting with apprenticeship! They just adopted the licensing program in 2010, but it’s not governed by any Real Estate Commission, the state has a Department of Business and Professional Regulation (DBPR). Texas requires more classroom hours as well.

Texas is tough, but I think that’s good for the “profession”.

Fred