Apprenticing, Field Training, Mentoring, Ride Alongs, Etc

I’m new to NACHI and to the home inspection business as a whole but I’ve been lurking the forums and following along on different topics for a while now. I’ve just signed up for pre-licensing class and hope to be able to complete the state required training and get a license soon.

My recent employment background is not construction related but I have experience in investigating, interpreting and applying laws, regulations, and standards in my previous job. I’ve also been lucky enough to be able to retire at age 48. (I did do roofing, various construction labor jobs, and major apartment remodeling work before my last job but that was many years ago…)

My question is this - Once I’ve completed the required training, applied for and passed FL licensing, purchased tools, insurance and other needed equipment, what are the chances of actually landing a job? I don’t intend to start up my own company or business in the near future and would rather work with someone else to gain the experience to do the best job I can.

Do most people here work on their own or just with family members or are there any companies big enough or busy enough to take on another inspector? I’ve seen the InterNACHI no-compete clause template and wonder if anyone actually offers on the job training that way. Any thoughts or comments would be appreciated!

Jon Hinman

Jon

There are a few companies in Brevard that have more that one inspector. mysafehome, Tee Pee inspections, Honor, Happy Homes, and O’Brian. There may be more, but not that I know of. Some inspectors are busy and some are slow, it is a matter of how they run their business. You can check with those companies to see if any are hiring, but business varies and people usually stay in a position if they are happy with it, not leaving many opportunities. If there is anyway I can help please do not hesitate to ask.