Door Closure

I have looked but unable to find.
Does FLorida code require a self closeing device on doors from garage to house? If so , any reference would be appreaciated.
Thanks in advance

NO-not on free standing single family residences. Yes-on multi-family residences with rated attached garages.
You can check FBC for multi-unit residential buildings. I use to know right where that was in the code.

I’m also a Florida residential contractor and have never been gigged on that.
I don’t believe so and have built very many homes without a closer.
Fire rating is all they look for on that door.

I have built duplexes and that never came up.They had their own attached garage.

Thanks William, Thats what I thought, but needed confirmation.

Thanks Roy

Called out no closure on a 4 unit condo each with attached garage.
Realtor Questioned code.

I generally report on missing closures, not because of code, but for the safety factor.

Does anyone else do this?

I looked through this FBC bible and haven’t found anything about this.
I’m sure I must have missed it.
If you guy find it , post it please.

Roy

If I remember correctly, it used to be in the code, but was removed. I would suspect due to the fact that the top door types would rip the door apart and the hinge spring types failed after a year.

I’ll see if I can find he reference.

It was removed from the IRC in 2006.

I too generally report on the missing closure for safety reasons, along with the need for the a) solid core door, b) sheet metal door or c) 20-minute fire-rated door.

The InterNACHI Inspection Narratives have a good suggestion under
HEADING: Garage
SUB-HEADING: Garage Door
NARRATIVES: Door to Home Interior

Thanks Eric
At least it was code at one time.

2012 IRC
R302.5.1 Opening protection.