Hello
My name is Mary
I’m a new member to InterNACHI
I want o be become a home inspector but I have no type of education or background in construction, home renovation, or anything in the field. I just started reading through How to preform roof inspections and I’m wondering if this online class works for people who have no type of experience. I seem to be getting discouraged because I feel like I need to be seeing things in the psychical in order to fully understand.
So my question is can this online course help me even though I have no experience ?
also I see that certain things are not required, Example: not required to measure the slope of a roof but in the chapter quizzes there is questions on how to measure slope and pitch.
On the state exam will these and many other questions be ask that are not required by H. Inspectors ?
I would also like to know if anyone who lives in the central FL or Tampa Bay area has a business who will be able to take me under their wing and help me with the hands on side as far as shadowing/ ride along it would be greatly appreciated.
Thank You in Advance

You can and will learn a ton if you do all the education InterNACHI offers. It is great and you will become familiar with all the terms. Practice in your head wherever you go and do friends and Families homes. Once you fee you are fairly capable try to get a job as a helper 1st. I would bet just about any company would hire you if hiring and you show them the list of what courses you have taken. Good Luck. The HEAT here is hellish , always stay hydrated.