Screen cage question

Please note in the picture it appears that screen splining is missing/not installed in numerous areas and I personally think it compromises the integrity of the cage and the install.

Does anyone know where I can find Florida information on this. Sellers are questioning my report and would like to give them a place I can professionally refer them to. Thanks in advance

If the area you are referring to are the “X” braces, it doesn’t need to be there.
If you are talking about the center brace, it may not be needed there either as the channels that run front to back appear to be adequate.

I would call it a poor install, but not related to the structure, formally installing them for a living. The structure should be fine.

Extra stuff for potential “Snow Load” !

You know, global warming…

As I have NO experience other than having had screen enclosures in the past I am asking to learn.

Wouldn’t it be structurally stronger if all were splined? Not necessarily necessary but better?

In other words how would you do it if it were yours?

I spline most of mine only to hold the screen better. It is very common to not spline many sections. With the engineer you mileage may vary. I would say if you are relying on screen and spline for support you may want to add additional framing members.

Thanks. I will keep that in mind if I ever get another screen enclosure. :slight_smile:

My concern would be that when high winds come would a large screen only held down in a couple places be more susceptble to lifing off. Wouldn’t a large one peice screen be more wind restrictive than a small screen?

I would be more concerned with it blowing out because of the missing spline.

I’m not a screen expert but it looks like most I look at